Emergency Management Council

The Emergency Management Council (EMC) includes a County Commissioner, the Mayors of Bremerton, Port Orchard, Poulsbo, and an elected representative from Bainbridge Island. The EMC reviews actions taken by the Kitsap County Department of Emergency Management (KCDEM), makes recommendations, and approves funding for the department.  The EMC acts as the Policy Group over the Emergency Operations Center.

Public meetings are held quarterly and are currently viewable via Zoom.

Once normal operations resume, the EMC will meet at the Norm Dicks Government Center in Bremerton.

Special meetings are called by the KCDEM Director or by the Council Chair when needed.

2023 EMC Board

  • Bremerton Mayor
    Greg Wheeler, Council Vice-Chair 

  • Bainbridge Island Elected Representative
    Joe Deets 

  • Kitsap County Commissioner
    Robert Gelder, Dist 1

  • Poulsbo Mayor
    Becky Erickson

  • Port Orchard Mayor
    Rob Putaansuu, Council Chair

EMC Meetings

Check for upcoming events

January 3, 2030 @ 8:00 am

Find information on upcoming events here.

EMC Meeting April 4, 2023

EMC Meeting Notice 04.04.2023 EM Council Agenda 04.04.23 EMC Minutes 03 Jan 2023 FINAL    The next Emergency Management Council (EMC) meeting will be held on Tuesday, April 4, 2023 at 12:30pm in person at [...]

EMC Meeting January 3, 2023

EMC Meeting Notice 01.03.2023 EM Council Agenda 010323 EMC Meeting Packet 01.03.2023 You are invited to a Zoom webinar. When: Jan 3, 2023 01:30 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada) Topic: Jan 3, 2023 DEM [...]

EMC Meeting 11/1 Agenda & Executive Summary

The Kitsap County Emergency Management Council (EMC)  Meeting will be held on Tuesday, November 1, 2022 from 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Where: Norm Dicks Government Center, 345 6th St, Bremerton, WA 98337 (This meeting [...]

top of page arrow